sick note vs fit note

Options
justinbarrow
justinbarrow Member Posts: 338
just been reading about the replacement of sick notes with a new thing called fit note.

I have been giving in sick notes for the last 9 years and just wanted to ask if anyone knows what they are about i s it aimed at people who are on leave from work due to illness or simply aimed at everyone.

I hate asking for sick notes as i feel i am being branded with the people that get them even when there isnt anything wrong with them.

Just wondered how it is likley to effect the genuine people as i am struggling at the moment

Comments

• woodbon
    woodbon Member Posts: 4,969
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello, Sorry, I don't know the answer to your question, although now you'v mentioned it, I can remember reading something a few months ago. I'll try and find out, but it sounds like another of out governments splendid ideas to cut down on the amount they have to pay out :!: :roll: I think they want us all to go and get one of the non-existant jobs that people who have been made redundent are trying to get! :? Sorry to rant on! :oops: LOVE Sue
  • eckstardeluxe
    eckstardeluxe Member Posts: 1,192
    Options
    Hi, not heard this yet.

But after my fall and they gave me Gabapentin, I asked the quack for a week's line to let the meds work.

He said NO. Under no circumstances will you be fit to work until after you've been seen at the Pain Clinic. He gave me a month's line, even my Manager was puzzled it wasn't 4 weeks as they usually write.

When I told him that I can't be off a month or I'll go mad, he said well you aint going back early unless I say you are fit and I'm not signing you back until I'm sure. Even when work visited my house, they said the same thing. They were actually very supportive and me and my hubby were :shock:
  • justinbarrow
    Options
    it does seem strange here is the link...

http://www.direct.gov.uk/en/Nl1/Newsroom/DG_178447