How long before returning to work after THR?

cupcake74
cupcake74 Member Posts: 10
Now have a date for my THR. I'm a teacher and only 31 and wondered how long I should expect to be off work after my operation. Would be great to hear from anyone who has gone through the same thing.

Comments

• miss_l
    miss_l Member Posts: 138
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi im 27 and a teacher and also awaiting a THR, i have been told to expect 10 weeks off after the surg. I teach Science and apparently wont be able to do the practcal aspects until then - well so say occ health.
    x
  • nearlybionic
    nearlybionic Member Posts: 1,899
    Hi
    Most information says some jobs you can go back after 6 weeks, if a sedentary type job. However, if you have a most physical job 3 months. I have recently gone back to work at 14 weeks post op and I am a community nurse/health visitor. Realistically, I would not have coped at 6 weeks. Driving is a big part of my job and I found getting in and out of the car uncomfortable at that stage.
    However, we are all different, and if you are able to rest regularly, walk about to keep joints moving regulary and just listen to your body.....
    I still get stiffness in back/hips if sitting dor long periods, driving for longer journeys can cause discomfort but both are eased with movement/walking.
    Your surgeon will advise you at your post op review, and you can get some idea of his guidelines at your pre op check.
    I am doing a phased return with reduced hours to start, so luckily do not feel too tired after work. But if I had done this at 6 weeks I think it would have been a different story. Don`t rush back too soon! Give your body time to heal.
    Good luck with your surgery.
    NB
  • collettem
    collettem Member Posts: 94