i hate phoning in sick-feel so guilty

rpringle
rpringle Member Posts: 13
Just phones in sick, have not been in this week at all.
My stupid neck has been really playing up lately and it is really stiff and quite painful again today.
I have to really psych myself up to phone in work to tell them I will not be in and i hate it.
I work in the public sector so it is not as bad as working for a small company in the private sector but i always feel so guilty.
I started Humira yesterday and am really hoping thats going to work in the next few weeks but at the moment my neck is proving to be quite a problem
I am going to go swimming in a bit to see if it helps free my neck up a bit but i am worried people might see me from work and say "well I saw him swimming so he couldn't have been that bad". I in my mind thats stupid as I have told by my physiotherapist to go but it's how i feel.
The problem with going to work is that I have to sit at a desk interviewing people and my neck just seizes up even if i don't move it for about 2 minutes and it means that typing then turning to talk to someone becomes really difficult.
Does anyone else feel that guilty feeling even though deep down you know it just isn't justified?
When I put my sensible head on I say to myself that I can't work because my neck is too bad and that if I go in it will make it worse, but on the other hand I keep worrying about what other people at work must be thinking.

Is that stupid?

Comments

• janie68
    janie68 Member Posts: 1,186
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00