After THR - any handy hints?

Options
mongoose
mongoose Member Posts: 3
edited 30. Oct 2009, 08:17 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello everyone - I'm new to this and to my hip which I got just 2 months ago and I'm hoping some of you with experience can give me some advice.
Recovery has gone well, but my consultant says that the one thing I must never do, ever again, is bend the leg more than 90 degrees. I'm trying to figure out what this means in terms of everyday activities.
For instance, how can I cut my toenails or tie shoelaces? What about gardening? Can I kneel on the floor to play with my grandchildren? And of course, what's the best way to have sex?!
Any tips will be most welcome.

Comments

• tkachev
    tkachev Member Posts: 8,332
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    I had my THR in July so feel qualified to answer this.No you shouldnt bend down with your hand past your knee so def no shoelaces or picking up from floor(use your grab stick).Do not sit on low chairs which means you are sitting at 90 degrees.Use a cushion to raise you.You risk dislocation if you do.Having said that I always picked up off the floot,bent down to pull trousers etc up.After 12 weeks you should be allowed to do these things unless advised otherwise.
    Sex should be less painful with a bit more flexibility but unfortunately not too easy!Still having problems with that one!

Take care Tkachev
    Never be bullied into silence.
    Never allow yourself to be made a victim.
    Accept no ones definition of your life

Define yourself........

Harvey Fierstein
  • tanith
    tanith Member Posts: 175
    Options