Terrible first day back...Advice please....

topgirl
topgirl Member Posts: 290
Well after being off with RA for 8 months I went back to work today on a phased return...
2 weeks ago I had a meeting with HR to discuss 'reasonable adjustments' as I work in retail and have trouble with walking and standing...
We agreed:
On a stool/ chair for fitting rooms/till
50/50 split stand/sit
Admin work in office when a job comes up

Started today and
No chair...seems me and the manager have to go to a shop and buy one( even tho i havent got a clue)...but my Manager said she is far to busy this week to go..
My manager was also 'too busy' to get me a till code...
My manager said that there are 'no admin jobs' for me to do..
I was on my feet all shift...
She also didnt introduce me to new team members...

I was really upset and went to loos for a little weep and my friend said my manager has said that she 'wants rid' of me and the company shouldnt keep disabled staff...
I have worked for this'big retail company for 25 years and im gutted...
What shall I do...
P.S leaving isnt an option.. :cry:

Comments

• gemmapetken
    gemmapetken Member Posts: 263
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    so sorry to hear this, i dont have any advice for you just wanted to say how sorry i was to hear such crap from your boss. Shouldnt be allowed!

gemma
  • topgirl
    delboy wrote:
    Firstly go to HR and make an official complaint that the adjustments you require to do your job haven't been implemented and that if they are not your condition will worsen (As it will) and will need to delay the return.

Secondly, if the adjustments aren't made within a reasonable time then leave and sue them for constructive dismissal and discrimination.

No point in messing about with them but give them an opportunity to to correct their error first.

Good advice....how long would you give them..?
  • markc1
    markc1 Member Posts: 253
    delboy wrote:
    topgirl wrote: