Newbie, 15, Glasgow.

sootisox
sootisox Bots Posts: 5
edited 4. Mar 2010, 18:40 in My child has arthritis
Hi,

I'm a complete newbie to the forum. My daughter is 15 and has recently been diagnosed with RA. She has been taking 30mg of prednisolone every day and will be starting Methotrexate (sp?) this Friday night.

It's all happened very suddenly. My daughter had been complaining of stiff and sore wrists for a few months (on and off), we had attributed this to the ganglion operation she'd had on her wrists 18 months before. Xmas 09, she took a turn for the worse, her fingers, wrists and ankles started to swell and became very sore ... she was no longer able to squeeze shampoo from the bottle in the shower in the mornings and was unable to even dress herself (couldn't manage buttons), even door handles became a problem. She had difficulty with stairs and with walking in general.

We were fortunate that we have private health insurance and after the initial blood tests had been completed at the GPs surgery, we were referred to the local private hospital to see the rheumatologist within days and she was diagnosed with RA.

We met the NHS rheumatologist for the first time today who has started her on methotrexate and folic acid. I'm grateful that we managed to get a diagnosis so quickly but feel that the Dr today wasn't that forthcoming with information regarding the treatment, it's side effects or what effect RA is likely to have on my daughter. What side effects can she expect? Would she benefit more from the injection or the tablets? Is there anything else we need to look out for? Is she still likely to have flare ups on the medication? I know nothing of RA in general ... this is a huge learning curve for the whole family and we're still shellshocked!

Thanks in advance for any advice you can provide

Jo

Comments

• malc7747
    malc7747 Member Posts: 73
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Jo,

A warm welcome to the Forum from me :)