Not able to work?

abfab1963
abfab1963 Member Posts: 41
That....would scare me!!

I work as a Management Accountant....so my job is desk based. In other words, I sit on my **** all day playing with sums! :-)

My job is 95% computer based and SO far has not caused me any real issues. If I dont make a point of getting up and walking about the office every 30 mins or so, I will seize up. We dont have any stairs...thank God!!

My knuckles were one of the 1st places to have swelling and just in the last month the next joints up are now getting stiff and sore.

So...is there anything I should be doing, to help with this?

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Cheers!
xx

Comments

• dorcas
    dorcas Member Posts: 3,516
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi abfab,

I have problems with my fingers and hands too and have had a left wrist fusion and am waiting for a right total wrist replacement op in June...

I have 'Dragon Naturally Speaking' voice activated software on my pc which works wonderfully...but I'm not sure whether it would be compatible/ useable with your accountancy system?...might be worth you investigating though?.. you can read more on
    http://www.nuance.co.uk/naturallyspeaking

Other than that I find heat helps (some find cold is better) and I use a hot wax therapy hand unit twice a day...it is so soothing, loosens up the stiff joints and tendons and relieves the pain of arther for a time. It's not a cure just a way of alleviating symptoms that works for me. The wax unit + wax costs about £40.00 and for me was money well spent!

hope you can get some relief from the pain....what meds are you on just now?

Iris x
  • abfab1963
    Its seems ages since I was here, so thank you for your replies.