edited 5. Jul 2010, 19:42 in My child has arthritis
its liquid a liquid and she gets agited and fights me HELP

Comments

• anniesmum
    anniesmum Member Posts: 102
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    flgirl wrote:
    its liquid a liquid and she gets agited and fights me HELP

I have just posted a reply in the wrong box - look at the message below your subject. I am a bit new to this and a techno phobe. So sorry. Lucy
  • speedalong
    speedalong Member Posts: 3,315
    Hi,

I would try bribery and corruption - chocolate/stickers/shiny coins ... whatever her "currency" is. If possible schedule her meds time just before a favourite activity ie watching favourite video/dinner time or whatever so you can focus on the "now/then" aspect - as soon as you take this you can ...
    At other times I would do role play - let her use an empty syringe/spoon whatever you use) to give meds to teddy etc Role play teddy playing up and see how she gets him to take it .. then try the same method on her!!

You might end up having to force her take it for few doses and then instantly reward her for taking it.

Are you allowed to mix it with anything to mask the taste?

Some children take meds better infront of others ie family, friends, siblings .... though she might be bit young for this to work.

Good luck, remember however mean you feel - you are doing it for her benefit. With a bit of luck she'll soon be doing it herself.

Let us know how you get on.

Speedalong

PS Bear in mind this irefusal is only a phase - how ever long it feels just now.
    I have had OA since mid twenties. It affects my hips and knees. I had a THR on the left aged 30 and now have a resurface-replacement on the right - done May 2010.
  • flgirl
    flgirl Member Posts: 4