Cake Making Ideas

Rainbow77
Rainbow77 Member Posts: 275
edited 23. Jul 2010, 10:31 in Community Chit-chat archive
Hi everybody.

I know I can rely on you to help me. I am a qualified teacher but for the last year I have been teaching adults cookery. The charity I work for have booked me for 2, 3 hour sessions to do cake making. They did want me to do cake decorating but arthur has taken its toll on my hands and so I could not do all that finite stuff with icing. But I can make lovely cakes - so I said I would do cake making.

I am now in the process of planning my session and would like to ask what sort of cakes would you like to make if you could come?

I will do the usual victoria sponge, muffins and butter icing etc but am trying to figure out what other easy but wow factor cakes I could do.

I have got to consider temp of oven , timings etc to put the whole session together. Why did I say yes to this?

I have thought about rock cakes and ginger cake so far. The skill range will be very mixed and I will have to judge that on the day when the learners come.

Anyone got any ideas?

Thanks for your help in advance.

Fay xx

(Cheeky I know - but I have got teachers bloc!!) :):):)

Comments

• elnafinn
    elnafinn Member Posts: 7,412
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Fay

I will bump up the recipe thread we had going a long time ago and there are plenty of cake recipes on there :D

Luv
    Elna x
    The happiest people don't have the best of everything. They just make the best of everything.

If you can lay down at night knowing in your heart that you made someone's day just a little bit better, you know you had a good day.
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,336
    Fay

Hope you dont mind me asking are these adults who have learning disabilities or anyone???

We love bread and butter pudding here and any kind of muffin....quick and easy jam tarts??

Love

Toni..
  • frogmorton
    PARKIN!!!!

Just read it on teh other forum and thought of you :wink: