hair loss help

chrissycl
chrissycl Member Posts: 27
Hi i'm a newbie and need advice. i am taking mtx after coming off Leflunomide because of big anxiety problems, started losing my hair when on Leflunomide and still losing .it now worried that I will go completly bald at the momment its only thinning but feels very thin .any advise please

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, welcome to the forums. I sympathise about the meth, I'm on it too. Have you also been prescribed folic acid? This is supposed to minimise the side-effects of the meth. It has to be done through your rheumatologist, as they can prescribe it at much stronger doses than the stuff one buys. The norm is to take it the day after the meth, but some take it for more days than that. If you go to the LWA (living with arthritis) forum and do a search on hair loss, I think quite a few threads will come up, which may be able to give you some extra info. I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • chrissycl
    dreamdaisy wrote:
    Hello, welcome to the forums. I sympathise about the meth, I'm on it too. Have you also been prescribed folic acid? This is supposed to minimise the side-effects of the meth. It has to be done through your rheumatologist, as they can prescribe it at much stronger doses than the stuff one buys. The norm is to take it the day after the meth, but some take it for more days than that. If you go to the LWA (living with arthritis) forum and do a search on hair loss, I think quite a few threads will come up, which may be able to give you some extra info. I wish you well. DD
    thanks for your answer will do the shearch ,it helps to know that i'm not alone
  • dreamdaisy