Back at work

denpen
denpen Member Posts: 389
edited 1. Oct 2010, 16:35 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi
I went back to work last week, After 5 months off after THR I only worked 12 hrs but it was over 4 days, Thurs 3hrs, Fri 3hrs, Sat 2hrs, Sun 4 hrs, by Sat I was sore but by Sunday night I was VERY sore. My next shift was to be Wed but boss rang me last night and asked me to swap to Friday instead, I am so glad she did it will give me more time to rest. They have amended my hrs for a few weeks to ease me back into it and I am really grateful that my GP asked them to do it.
I thought that I had been pushing it having 5 months off, but I now think that maybe I should have had longer off. (Oh by the way I work in a shop).
Denise

Comments

• nearlybionic
    nearlybionic Member Posts: 1,899
    edited 28. Sep 2010, 12:19
    Hi Denise
    Well done on going back. It will take time to get back to speed, so you are doing the right thing with the phased return. I`m glad you have a rest before your next shift.
    Pre op and whilst you have been recovering your muscles haven`t been working as well as the can, so it will take time to get used to using them at work again. Keep your boss informed of how you are coping with the return and if there is anything else you need them to do to make things easier and better for you at work.
    Have a well earned rest xx
    NB
  • tillytop
    tillytop Member Posts: 3,460
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Denise
    Well done for getting through your first week back at work - particularly as you work i a job where you are on your feet all day. Glad that your GP supported you in a phased return to work too.

Hopefully you can make the most of today, tomorrow and Thursday to rest up ready for going back on Friday.

Love Tilly x
  • barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    Hi Denise
    You have done so well, know wonder you are tired, Its your body getting used to being back.