Unis :)

stephibabe2
stephibabe2 Member Posts: 60
edited 3. Oct 2010, 18:07 in Young people's community
Hey Guys,
So at the moment I have been visiting a few univirsitys as I am hoping to study at one next September. So .. the question is (well a 2 actually)
What support did you need when at uni?
And was it hard to get the Disability students allowence, what did it help you to buy etc?

Thanks guys, will be a great help as I'm getting overloaded with this uni stuff. One day I feel positive about it the next Im like ahhh! should I really be going ahead with all this.
Take care guys, Steph xx

Comments

• scattered
    scattered Member Posts: 326
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I'm now a masters student and I applied for DSA at my undergrad uni and as a postgrad. I was awarded it both times. I had an assessment of need done both times and it drew up a series of recommendations to help me.

As an undergrad I got: a proper office chair; a book holder; a dictaphone; voice recognition software; reimbursed for my laptop; money to pay for note-takers and exam staff; a book allowence.

As a postgrad I got: a new dictaphone and microphone; voice recognition software; reimbursed for my laptop; money for a note-taker, library support and exam staff; a book allowence; Omnipage software.

DSA is very useful in helping you to buy things that are necessary for you study as any other student. As my hands are particularly affected a lot of my aids were simed towards helping me with typing and note-taking. The disability depts at both my universities have been very helpful - giving me permission to use the lifts on campus if I need to, making sure my tutors are aware of my problems and generally being there if I need them.

Good luck!
  • cthornley
    cthornley Member Posts: 627
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Steph
    Ooo looking at unis exciting and daunting

I did 3 degrees and got assessed in the 1st one for DSA