Carly from Manchester - quick intro

CarlyF
CarlyF Member Posts: 76
edited 7. Feb 2011, 15:26 in Say Hello Archive
Hi all,

After already meeting a few people from an eariler post who have had (are having) similar experiences then me. I thought I'd post here give a little intro and i'd love to chit chat with other people who feel their experiences are similar. OFC anyone can feel free to chat, i love to chat!

Me:
30 yo (well i'm 30 on 2nd March, but I've already accepted it!), live in Manchester with my Fiance, who I met online 6 years ago! My family all live in Newcastle so its just us around here. I'm a systems accountant.. which makes me a boring geek.. again already accepted this!

The arthritis
Firstly - my Aunt was diagnosed in her 20's with RA, which I constantly pointed out to any doctors I saw.

Aching hands/feet actually started in my late teens... by early-20's my mum was insistant of me having the doctors check for RA because of my aunt. Blood tests come back negative so they said nothing was wrong. So things carried on as they were, but a little ach on my hands/feet really didn't bug me too much if im honest.

From 26 ish I started complaining more about the aches, so off to docs again, and again bloodtests all negative so nothing wrong.

Around 27, I had an awful year - 25 sick days from work, constantly battling with the doctor about it not being 'all in my head'. Doctors advised me to do more exercise which I did - gentle walks around the block etc every night... after a few days I was off work a week in pain. Crunch time came, and the doc insisted on refering me to a shrink... and I said i'd be happy to go see a shrink if you first refer me to a rheumatologist.. which im so pleased he did.

Jan 2009 - Rheumy visit (was in Northumberland/Alnwick, can't remember the name of my Doc, but he was young(ish) and very very good with me). Told him my symptons, and aches since a teenager, i'll list some just so others can relate.