Wow, we're not alone!

Options
Pebs
Pebs Member Posts: 3
edited 14. Apr 2011, 18:01 in My child has arthritis
Hi! Newbie here, I have 3 daughters and Daisy, the youngest at 9, has been diagnosed with JIA for the past 2 years.

It's been hell really, after the initial relief of the diagnosis (after being told it was probably leukaemia!), 18 months of treatment but essentially being ostriches we are having to face up to the fact that life as we know it, and life as we hoped for her has changed forever.

She started on steroids and Methotrexate which worked beautifully. It took a long while to get her off the steroids but we had a brief but happy period of remission. Then it flared worse than ever and funding was approved for Enbrel. She started this about 6 months ago and again it worked really well initially (much quicker than we were lead to believe) but the effect started to tail off as they did with the Meth. Then she started to get awful itchy rashes and scratched herself raw all over her body. Enbrel was stopped and we are in no-mans-land at the moment.

She has the dreaded A in just about every joint, recently it has started in her chest wall too causing horrific chest pains. First time that happened resulted in some 'spirited' driving to A&E as I was quite convinced she was having a heart attack!! Today the pains are in her shoulders, hands, wrists, feet, tomorrow it might be her neck or her jaw or her hips. Every days a lottery!

Since ending the Enbrel she's flaring badly but all we can do is give her painkillers and the weekly Meth injection. Our consultant is trying to push another treatment through our local PCT but I have no idea how long that will take, especially as it's not licenced for children. He mentioned a 6 weekly drip treatment but I have no idea what that is...anyone know?