yet another newbie

scozzie
scozzie Member Posts: 333
edited 22. Apr 2011, 16:16 in Say Hello Archive
Hi all,

I'm another newbie here, I'm an Aussie living permanently in Scotland, although not yet fully diagnosed -- I'm waiting on the test results from hand x-rays and a blood test, although I had already been told that I have arthritis in my right thumb's "pip" joint.

Over the past month or so I have had very sore finger joints and after a two weeks of taking ibuprofen at work just to get by I went to the doctor to find out what's wrong. Things are helped by work being so busy at the moment -- 12 hour shifts of lifting and manual handling ad naseum. The worst part is, this isn't my primary job at work, but when we're as busy as this I have to do it ... and as the senior employee I seem to be expected to work harder than anyone else and set an example, which no one follows ... lol.

Anyway that's enough for now.

Bye
Scozzie

Comments

• Poppyg1rl
    Poppyg1rl Member Posts: 1,245
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Scozzie,
    Nice to meet you, although sad you had to join us in our arthritic battle!!!
    I have PA, like RA basically an inflammatory arthritis with very swollen painful fingers, thumbs etc so I know where you're coming from with thumb pain, mine too are in the pip joints.
    Waiting fir a diagnosis is the worst bit, but getting you diagnosed and started on treatment is the positive bit! the earlier you start treatment the better, so make sure you push the drs if you feel you're being ignored.
    Working long shifts with physical work is not ideal for you, you will probably be put on something a little better than ibuprofen for pain and swelling (depending on diagnosis) which should help.
    Feel free to pm me if you have any other questions, and best of luck for your diagnosis, let us know his you get on, all the best xx
    'grá agus solas'
    'Love and Light' translated from Irish. X
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520