16 and living with arthritis

gia
gia Member Posts: 9
edited 20. May 2011, 03:36 in My child has arthritis
Hey my name is gia and i am 16. I broke my ankle last year and i was in hospital for 3 weeks ever since i have been in an out of hospital for physio, check ups and i have had 4 operations. This week i got told i had arthritis and all my cartilage had gone between the 2 bones that make my ankle joint. The doctor gave me 2 options, 1. they could fuse my ankle together or 2. get a joint replacement. but they then told me i am too young for either. I am in a lot of pain and cannot walk. is there any other options????? and what rate DLA can i get??

please help

Comments

• GUINDI
    GUINDI Member Posts: 28
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Gia..hope you are not in so much pain today. Like you I am new to all this and my problems are the knees and I am much older than you but I am sure someone here can give you good advise and support like they are giving me. chin up and sure things will be okay. love and hugs Paloma xx
  • GUINDI
    GUINDI Member Posts: 28
    Gia, make sure you post your chats in the LIVING WITH ARTHRITIS FORUM and you will get more people viewing it and getting in touch luv

Paloma xxx
  • gia
    Thanks for the message. I am not in to much pain today as my doctor has given me pain killers to take everyday so i can manage the pain and so it doesn't get on top of me. Its good to know there are other people out there who are going through the same as i am who i can talk to.

thank you :)
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520