THR post op Advise Please

dippyhips
dippyhips Member Posts: 58
edited 1. Jun 2011, 02:45 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi everyone :smile:

Got home last night and it's so good to be back home :smile:

I'm 5 days post op, I have been doing my exercises, resting, and abit of walking around the house and more resting. From my operated hip down to my knee is really swollen, which is making any movements really difficult. Is this normal and if so how long before it's back to normal or is there something I need to do to reduce it?

Sue x

Comments

• julie47
    julie47 Member Posts: 6,041
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    dippyhips

can not advise you as I have no experience of thr just wanted to say I am pleased that you are back home.
    I hope the swelling goes down and you have a speedy recovery.
    Take care
    juliepf x
  • daylily
    daylily Member Posts: 619
    Hi glad to hear your op was ok.
    The swelling???? Mine lasted about 6 months, consultant said it can last a year. Like everything else everyone's different.
    Wore some horrible tiger print stretch pants I got from a nameless foreign supermarket as they were the only thing I could get on. UGH!!!!

(still use them for gardening) lol
  • constable
    constable Member Posts: 2,115
    Hi Sue,

I bet your glad it's all over and done with. I still have the swelling, the district nurse is very pleased with me though. She told me it will take quite a time to go down, so be prepared for that. Keep us posted as you recover want you, and if you have any questions you can pm me.

Karen xx
    Karen xx
  • dippyhips
    Thanks Julie, Daylily & Karen.

I've been told by a friend to try ice pack & Arnica has anyone tried these, if so did they help?

Sue x
  • constable
    constable Member Posts: 2,115