Long suffering JIA veteran going through difficult time

Options
sunshine75
sunshine75 Member Posts: 14
Hi all,

I'm a 36 year old teacher whose had JIA since I was 10 months old. Been through several joint replacements, operations, change of meds etc etc, so I'm very used to life with this unfortunate illness!

I'm usually a happy go lucky smiley person who never really complains but recently have been going through a tough time coping. Nothing really has changed, but I'm having a flare up currently (as well as having Ulcerative Colitis), a very bad hip which will probably need replacing within the next year and I just feel so fed up, alone, and struggling to cope with things I've always coped with. I live on my own now and family have moved away so I feel worried about the future for me and my independence. I don't feel I can really talk to my many wonderful friends and just needed a supportive reply or two to keep me going and get me through a very negative personal spell with people who can understand what this is like.

Any words of encouragement or similar stories would be gratefully received.

thanks to anyone who reads and replies .

x

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello Sunshine75,

I’m not a member of the Helpline Team, just an ordinary member of the forum but I wanted to welcome you, particularly as it’s Friday so you may have to wait longer than usual for an ‘official’ reply.

You say so much in so few words. 36 years of arthritis from the age of 10 months. Overcome sufficiently to become a teacher. Replacement joints too. And not only that but also battling ulcerative colitis. Wow! I am impressed although I know you didn’t set out to impress, only to tell it how it is.