New here with osteoarthritis- pain relief

suzyc68
suzyc68 Member Posts: 19
edited 5. Mar 2017, 10:27 in Young people's community
Hello,

i'm new to this, but got diagnosed in April this year with osteoarthritis in my spine and hip after suffering since i was 16 (now 24). Just wondering if theres anyone else with the same here, who can share what they do to ease the pain (other the tablets), and how they cope with really bad days? Finding it quite difficult to come to terms with really. i am constantly tired, which isnt helping to motivate me to exercise- got into a viscous cycle.

Thanks

Suzanne

Comments

• traluvie
    traluvie Member Posts: 2,579
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Suzanne..

It is hard to try and find the right balance..
    One of the hard things is listening to what our body is saying..If it is hurting it normally means we need to slow down and rest as adding more stress could cause more pain..
    Keeping ontop with pain dullers and trying something like wheat bags,hot water bottles or some gel like deep heat..
    I suffer with my hips not sure waht arther i have there lol, but i kinow how painful it can be..I use crutches to help move about..that was done by a referral form GP..they are a great help when i need to get somewhere with support lol..
    Everyone is different in what works for them you may find you will have to try a few things to see what works best..
    Living with arthritis forum is a good forum for advice too, a lot of wise owls lol and good wit too..
    th_tn_TisFORTIGGER.jpgxxTracyxx
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520