HELLO im new here got fibromyalgia

suzy250467
suzy250467 Member Posts: 2
edited 11. Feb 2012, 14:50 in Say Hello Archive
hiya im sue and im 44 years old (but feel like 90 some days lol )and new here just been told i have fibromyalgia ........ i'v had pains in my back for years but now its everywhere from neck down to feet :evil

i try to live a normal life but im finding it hard to do somethings i used to enjoy or even the day to day things like cooking and cleaning and i hate having to ask for help it makes me feel useless

any help would be of help

thanx xx :oops:

Comments

• JoKeyes
    JoKeyes Member Posts: 11
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Sue,

I'm a newbie too! I have RA, but my mum has fibromyalgia, she is 54. She really suffers some days, she had to give up her job as a manager in retail. She is on pain medication, and she has also lately tried acupuncture which was suggested by her GP. People on here seem to be really helpful and friendly, so hopefully there is someone who can give you some tips/ideas. If you want me to ask my mum about anything let me know and I will :smile:
  • kittymedaughter
    kittymedaughter Member Posts: 81
    Hi Sue, I am a new member also suffering from Fibromyaliga and possible OA waiting for a firm diagonises. I have had fibro for over 8 years and it has made a huge impact on my life. I felt sorry for myself for nearly 2 years, looking for cures, looking for reasons why i had got this illness and I was concentrating on what i couldn't do anymore etc. I spent one weekend crying and then decided to fight it..yes i have an illness that limits me, but there is also alot of good stuff i can still do, it just meant i had to amend my life and educate the people in my life.