Drumming with psoriatic arthritis

cmd104
cmd104 Member Posts: 18
edited 29. Nov 2011, 16:55 in Living with Arthritis archive
Have had psoriatic arthritis for about 10 years, predominantly in hands. Have the usual pitted and brittle nails....Not currently taking any meds for it. Diagnosis confirmed by rheumatologist. Most of the pain I've had has been in the centre of my hands which makes gripping things difficult from time to time. For example, I can have difficulty with knives and forks.... Writing with pens is also problematic but not to the point that I can't sign my name....

Anyways, I did a degree in music with percussion as my weapon of choice. I pretty much gave up playing as my hands got so sore when playing. I might have been practising for up to 6 hours a day at that time. During my time at university, I quit playing for a year to see if things would settle down. After this time, I got a new teacher and worked on rebuilding my technique.....Things improved slightly, but not enough to play continually at a high level. At that time in my life, I thought that Music would be my career in some shape and so I was gutted when I realised that I would not be a professional. Anyways, 8 years on and a friend has approached me about playing in a band....

Any of you good people got any advice on how I could get back into playing?

Comments

• SheilaD
    SheilaD Member Posts: 201
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Firstly Hi and welcome to the forum. I'm sorry dont know much about anything as all this is new to me just been diagnosed with RA and still learning. I am sure someone will be along to help you out.
    They are a great bunch of people on here. :grin:

Love n hugs
    SheilaD
  • cmd104