So many questions..........where do I begin?

JuliaHod12
JuliaHod12 Member Posts: 456
edited 21. Feb 2012, 16:30 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi everyone,I am new on here
I've been reading so many uplifting and positive responses from you all I'm sure I will feel at home amongst you :-)

I'm 52, grandmother of 4 boys. I work full time as an administrator.

I was diagnosed (finally) with OA in my knees............I had 3 arthroscopies in the last 20 months (different surgeon the last time finally found the "arthur"). I have no cartilige left in my left knee and Grade IV OA currently........

I was told to come back and see him when I could no longer walk a mile or 500yds! I'm struggling still to manage pain and currently use Paracetamol/ Ibuprofen during the day and Co-dydramol at night........nothing ever seems enough :-(

I'm struggling also with tiredness and concentration at work........they know all about the arthur and have been quite supportive............but I am wondering if I should ask to be more flexible in my hours to allow for bad days?

Does anyone else have family that dont seem to understand the problems? My family think that because arthur can be a common problem,that its easy to cope with and I shouldnt still be in pain if I've had the arthroscopies.............!

Comments

• barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi JuliaHod12
    And a warm welcome from me, I am a grandma and have OA in multiple joints, so if anyone understands its us lot.
    Has for family and friends, well to be honest I used to be the same when people mention they had Arthur...Its such a common disease that we dont get much sympathy.
    The tiredness is really hard, I used to put it down to taking meds, but apparently most of us get it, you do learn to pace yourself, and a big part is getting the right mix of meds.