stuck between a rock and a hard place

resusjan
resusjan Member Posts: 290
edited 22. Feb 2012, 09:42 in Living with Arthritis archive
HI All,
I have rheumatoid arthritis - taking methotrexate, sulphalazine, planequil and folic acid. Also have hypothyroid (on thyroxine) and pernicious anaemia (having jabs every 12 weeks).

I work as an RN in the NHS currently in the training department teaching clinical skills etc. To cut a long story short, the hospital is really struggling at the moment with an outbreak of the norovirus - wards closed, staff off sick etc etc. Well, today the managers of the hospital have cancelled all the training I was supposed to be doing this week and told me I've got to work night shifts for the rest of the week covering wards where staff are off sick - so these are wards that are rife with the norovirus!!

My immediate manager knows I have RA but the senior management in the hospital don't. So, I'm a bit stuck now - if I go and work on these wards there is a massively increased risk of me being ill and not able to take my meds which will make my RA flare (possibly). I have spoken to occupational health and they said I shouldn't work in these areas and they are happy to give me a letter stating this. However, the only way I insure I am only sent to "clean" wards to work is to tell the managers about my RA. I'm really worried as it is these people I will be interviewed by if I ever go for promotion.

I really dont know what to do.

Comments

• tjt6768
    tjt6768 Member Posts: 12,170
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    That is a terrible place to be...
    I think you should listen to OH. You shouldn't be risking making yourself seriously ill.
    Wish you all the best..
    e050.gifMe-Tony
    n035.gifRa-1996 -2013 RIP...
    k040.gif
    Cleo - 1996 to 2011. RIP
  • resusjan
    Thanks Tony,