Hi from the North East

Options
desjumeaux
desjumeaux Member Posts: 52
edited 24. Sep 2012, 08:39 in Say Hello Archive
Hi, I have been diagnosed with Arthritis in my neck and shoulders, I am new to this and struggling a bit with what to do for the best having always been very active and independent.
Some of the things I need to know are how to keep things going, like housework, ironing, gardening. Hubby says I should rest, but surely the exercise will help?
Any advice for a new sufferer will be gratefully received.
:?

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello desjumeaux and welcome to the forum though, as we tend to say, I'm sorry you had to find us. Arthritis does tend to mess up our lives and plans but, hopefully, you'll be able to remain active and independent. I'm guessing yours is osteo?

Ah the husband v wife thing - I know it well! I'm going to sit on the fence here. You are right in that exercise will help to keep the muscles strong and joints protected but your husband is also right in that you do need to rest affected joints. What this means, in practice, is keep doing stuff but don't overdo it. Arthritic joints dislike repetetive actions, such as ironing. Learn to recognise the signs when yours have had enough and stop then. (I'll warn you, it's invariably at a point where it's a nuisance to stop :roll:) Little and often is the way forward.

If you look at the Publications and Resources button (top right) you'll see that AC produce several informative leaflets, one of which is on exercise. Also, if you copy this post to the Living With Arthritis forum, I'm sure you'll gets lots more replies. Good luck!
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • desjumeaux
    desjumeaux Member Posts: 52
    Options