Newbie here, not diagnosed

Ldyalb
Ldyalb Member Posts: 85
edited 19. Mar 2012, 18:31 in Say Hello Archive
Hi all. I'm Ldyalb, I'm 23 and have suspected Psoriatic Arthritis.

I have diagnoses of Dyspraxia, Joint Hypermobility Syndrome, Fibromyalgia, Restless Legs Syndrome, Eczema and Rosacea.

I've had Fibro for almost 2 years now. Since last summer I've been noticing that my fingers often feel swollen in the mornings. I was on Diclofenac at the time and no-one else agreed they were swollen. Slowly over time they started to look a bit swollen.

I saw my 2nd Rheumy (for Fibro) in November and she told me I needed my fingers scanning if they still felt swollen in early December. My GP refused to do the scans although he did run the bloods she requested. My inflammation markers were in the highest range they can be before being out of the 'normal' range. I stopped taking the Diclofenac in Jan as I suffer from Acid Reflux and it was getting worse.

After this my joints became increasingly swollen and my little fingers middle joints became swollen and changed shape slightly. GP felt them and still refused a scan as he said my joints were too flexible to be arthritic. Bearing in mind I have HMS - of course my joints are mobile most of the time. They've very stiff in the morning for a few hours after waking up. Also stiff if I've not used them much for a few hours.

Both my parents have osteoarthritis, Mum also has Spondylosis in her spine. She was diagnosed with OA at 28 but she'd had symptoms since she was 24. I'm 24 in June. I also have an Uncle with Ankylosing Spondylitis, he's had it from a young age. My parents are both Hypermobile and I know HMS can increase people's risk of getting arthritis.