Hi there Newbie here

julesb67
julesb67 Member Posts: 3
edited 29. Mar 2012, 13:47 in Say Hello Archive
Hi there everyone

Just thought I would pop in and say hello, just having a look around and reading lots!!! I have questions re OA having had it for 10 years and not much bother now have severe pain and difficulty walking, doctor says there is nothing I can do and physio wont help me Im just to keep taking co-codamol for pain relief!! Dont know if that is that and I have to just shut up and put up or if there is anything else I can get help with to make life easier..... I am working full time and finding it more and more difficult... any info ideas or links would be greatly appreciated.. Thanks
Jules xx

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, it's lovely to meet you and I am glad you have found us. This will only be a brief answer as someone is ringing me in a mo but yup, with OA there is not a deal to be done apart from exercise and pain relief. An anti-inflammatory may be prescribed at some point but it is, basically, 'put up and shut up'. I have it both knees and ankles, the knees are the worst-affected but the ankles are not that far behind! I also have an auto-immune arthritis and it is the damage from that which has led to the OA.

Some folk find a little benefit from taking supplements whereas others don't, but I guess they won't harm so it's always worth a try to discover to which camp you belong. I now use a rollator foe the majority of my outdoor walking, but on the better days I can downgrade to the crutches. I also have a Blue Badge which is invaluable. Queries about meds etc are dealt with on the Living With Arthritis forum, the other titles here are self-explanatory. Right, it's time for a cuppa and a natter with a friend! Take care and I hope to see your name here and there very soon. I wish you well. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben