Started new biologic treatment feel so ill

theresa4
theresa4 Member Posts: 696
edited 5. Apr 2012, 15:01 in Living with Arthritis archive
Well I took the bullet and started my 5th biologic Tocillizumab yesterday.
Went to home and was burning up for hours last night then this morning Im frozen and have a temperature my face is burning . Ive spent most of today in bed shivering :(

Ive emailed the rheumy nurse just waiting for a reply.
Has anyone else reacted to biologic infusions like this? Ive had a different one but not reacted like this.

Hope everyone is well and has been able to enjoy the nicer weather

Theresa x
There are many things in life that will catch your eye, but only a few will catch your heart...pursue those. --Michael Nolan

Theresa xxx

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    I haven’t Theresa, and I’ve no experience of biologics. I just wonder if you had some mild, underlying infection to start off with that you were unaware of but which has taken exception to the new med.

Can you get through to your rheumatology nurse by email? Will he/she still be picking them up over the weekend? If it gets any worse I’d check it out with NHS Direct. I hope it doesn’t though.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332
    Oh Theresa you poor thing!!

You plucked up the courage and now you feel so dreadful :(

If you dont get a reply, and you have no information leaflet to read, which reassures you l really would be ringing NHS direct too. It can do no harm to take a bit of advice.

Love

Toni xxx
  • theresa4
    Thanks Toni & Sticky for the replies