Hello all I'm a newbie any advice please

kizzy831
kizzy831 Member Posts: 5
edited 27. May 2012, 13:58 in Say Hello Archive
Hello every one my name is Kirsty and I'm new on here. i have just been diagnosed with osteo arthritis in my hips. i'm 40 years old and it has took me a year to get diagnosed with it because my doctors thought i was too young!! lol. my left hip is worse than my right but the pain is still bad enough to have me in tears :(

i have just had my medical for ESA and i have been kicked off because im apparently well enough for work. to be honest arthritis is not my only health problem but it is the most painful. when i went for my medical i tried to do what i could but i think i was wrong in doing that. my DLA claim was kicked out to.

I'm going to appeal about the decision and give it my best shot. does any one have any advice for me please :) all will be greatly appreciated.

thank you

kirsty xx

Comments

• resusjan
    resusjan Member Posts: 290
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    HI Kirsty,

Just wanted to say welcome to the forum - but sorry you've had to find us.

I cant help with your appeal as I've never been through the process, but I'm sure someone else will be along later to give you some support and advice. Hope it all goes well
    Jan
  • Annah
    Annah Member Posts: 92
    I have multiple disabilities and it's getting harder and harder to cope with everyday life. Thankfully, social services assessed me as deserving of help, so I do get a bit of support in the form of Direct Payments, which pays for my carer.

It is ironic that the DWP don't think I'm disabled, but social services do, but I mention this because it is perfectly possible to get help even if you're not on DLA or ESA.