hip questions

katybarstool
katybarstool Member Posts: 22
edited 1. Nov 2012, 18:02 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi

I've posted this in the hello section, but Elna suggested I might get more responses here. So, here goes:

I've been a member of this forum on and off for many years, but haven't logged in for a couple of years or so.

However, I want to pick your brains now: I have Sjogren's and OA and lots of connective tissue problems. My hip has been plaguing me for several years, but became very much worse after some bowel surgery earlier this year.

At my rheumy annual eview this week, I saw a new rheumatologist. After a very thorough examination, she give me a steroid injection for bursitis in the hip. She also offered to refer me to an ortho surgeon, as she thinks I have a high degree of wear and tear in the hip joint, and the pain is coming from 'bone-on-bone'.

I've had three major surgeries for other reasons in just about two years, and just couldn't face any more at the moment. Plus, although my work are very good, I need to get back for 12 months to build up my sick pay again. So, I asked her to put the referral on hold for now. She said she would, until my next review, but if things get worse, I have to contact the nurse helpline, and she will sort the referral.

I think I was a bit gobsmacked that she was so thorough, and so knowledgeable (she also said most of my joints are hypermobile. And spoke to me as an equal - not like my previous rheumy! Previously, I'd just been told my knees and hips were.) She's also checking out some damage in my lungs.

So, having got over the shock of more possible surgery, I thought I would come back and talk to people about hip surgery, particularly if anyone has had it done in Bradford.

Thanks
Kathy
Hi

I've been a member of this forum on and off for many years, but haven't logged in for a couple of years or so.