MRI access

lululu
lululu Member Posts: 486
edited 29. Nov 2012, 12:13 in Living with Arthritis archive
Anyone know if it is possible to get access to MRIs. I have had neck, bits of spine then full spine then brain MRIs in that order. Each time I mention a problem in another erea someone will say 'well looking at the MRI I am not surprised' I am therefore not convinced taht they are telling me the whole story and so am wondering if I can have my photos and get someone private to explain things - sounds fesible to me has anyone done this.

Comments

• ShulaArcher
    ShulaArcher Member Posts: 174
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi

Until recently, I worked in a hospital and every day dealt with requests for MRI images to be put on discs for patients. We charged £25 for this, although I don't know if this is general. You may also get a copy of the report to go with each MRI examination. However, unless you have a medical background it probably won't mean anything to you, either the images or report. Sometimes people do have a second opinion privately but you'd need a referral from your GP so I would have a chat with your GP first.

Hope this is useful.

Shula
  • frogmella
    frogmella Member Posts: 1,111
    When I got referred to my first (private) surgeon I had to get hold of my MRI scan. In the end I left it to his secretary to do it because the x-ray dept never answered the phone, but, to answer your question - yes I did get hold of it and still have it now. I didn't pay anything to get it.
  • lululu
    Thank you both, that is exactly what I needed to know - that it is possible. I shall enquire next time I go to see Rheumy. My GP surprised me when he said he does not have access to the images.
  • PowerOn
    PowerOn Member Posts: 200
    Hello lululu
    I got my medical records including a dvd of a barium swallow from my health board, cost £25.
    I posted some of the comments here and the lovely well informed peeps translated it for me.