Date for op

JanO
JanO Member Posts: 34
edited 10. Mar 2013, 14:08 in Living with Arthritis archive
Well I have just had a date for my HR 11.3. I'm in shock as I only found out I needed op 2 weeks ago, I'm lucky I'm off to a private hospital nearby as they are taking a few nhs patients, any advice for my stay in hospital welcome x

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    There's a thread higher up the page about hospital tips. I usually find all I need's a good book. The rest of the time is spent doing exercises and recovering from doing exercises :roll: I hope you have a hassle-free stay and a great new hip.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • JanO
    Thank you, I'm looking forward but anxious x
  • diamond
    diamond Member Posts: 396
    Best of luck with op JanO it will soon be over and done with.I have no experience with hips but have had both knees replaced.It is only natural to be anxious just make sure you do exercises after and look on this op as a way of improving your life.x
  • stickywicket
    One thing, JanO. Make sure you get good physio follow-up. Don't let them discharge you with no follow-up appt with a physio.
    Steven Wright
  • JanO
    Thank you, I'm going for my pre op assessment tomorrow, I'm feeling less anxious now and just looking forward to a better future, fingers crossed,
  • constable
    constable Member Posts: 2,115
    All the best and all I can say is, if you have family, then you take your time, get well rested. You are doing the right thing. I had mine replaced nearly 2 years ago now, and the new hip has settled in nicely now. So this is the best thing for you.
    Karen xx
  • JanO