Is anyone a Primary School teacher?

stlucia
stlucia Member Posts: 392
Hello,

Are there any teachers out there?! I just wondered how you cope with managing teaching with RA and any tips you have for making things easier in the classroom when your joints are sore, or you are tired or sick from taking medication.

Thanks so much

Lucia x

Comments

• miss_l
    miss_l Member Posts: 138
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi,

I'm not a primary teacher but i am a secondary science teacher!
    I had my hip replaced last August and in the past week have been diagnosed with RA in addition to OA.
    I've had quite a tough time at work, being 28 i found that most staff thought it was just growing pains and should live with it.
    Luckily OH have stepped in and things are improving.
    As a scientist im on my feet pretty much all the time running around after students and due to class size i never had a stool in lessons, but now i have a backed proper stool just for me which is fantastic!
    I have also been given LSA support who do the running around for me and should i feel ill i have a phone in my room to call for someone to cover me.

I would def ask for occ health to make suggestions as it def helped me!
  • stlucia
    stlucia Member Posts: 392
    Thank you so much for all that advice - I will definitely ask OH to see if they can recommend anything - half the trouble is not really being able to pin point what I need and what is available. I'm 26 and yes get the same feeling from some that it is something I should be able to get over and get on with - hmm tricky when it's like walking through treacle in lots of pain!!

Thanks so much again
  • timaviss
    timaviss Member Posts: 9
    stlucia wrote:
    Hello,

Are there any teachers out there?! I just wondered how you cope with managing teaching with RA and any tips you have for making things easier in the classroom when your joints are sore, or you are tired or sick from taking medication.

Thanks so much

Lucia x