Newbie just diagnosed and struggling

mellivenelli
mellivenelli Member Posts: 38
edited 31. May 2013, 14:51 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello

just wanted to introduse myself. I'm Mel and am 38 years old. I've just been diagnosed with arthritis in lower back, facet joint degeneration and arthritis in my left hip which probably requires a total hip replacement.

I'm not sure what my future holds. I'm a midwife and I've been off work since January and not sure if i'll ever get back to be honest. I'm in pain all day every day despite my Gabapentin, MST and Oromorph and am heavily using my TENS machine to get through the day. I hurt even just sitting down. I can't take NSAID's due to asthma which doesn't help.

I'm stressing about money cos am due to go on to half pay soon as my Occupational Health Doctor says i need non clinical duties and my department manager says that can't happen.

I don't even know where to start looking to gain some sort of normality in my life. I can feel the depression and uncertainty descending upon me.

What do I do now?

Comments

• hileena111
    hileena111 Member Posts: 7,099
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi
    Welcome to the forum....sorry you had to find us and are in such pain.
    First thing that struck me is if you cant take NSAID's can you use the ointment {NSAID} Check that out
    It must be awful to have it so badly when you are so young...I'm retired so don't need to worry about work.
    I've got OA in my hips, lower spine neck and ankle
    Have they offered you injections for your spine?
    They work for some but not for others {like everything else}
    Can you go back to your GP again and stress how bad it is?
    Can you get a referral from him to a pain management clinic?
    They can be very helpful.....from discussing and possibly changing meds to clinical psychologists who could help you with the depression and uncertainity
    I'm sure there will be others along to offer some more help
    Take care
    Love