Facet Joint Arthritis; sweating, advice needed (first post)

CathrynJane
CathrynJane Member Posts: 7
edited 4. Sep 2013, 17:29 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hello all.

This is my first post and I hope someone will be able to offer me some advice. I had an MRI and they found L3 L4 facet joint arthritis. I'm 60. Paracetamol doesn't really touch it and codeine gives me itchy skin. For some reason I have morning sweating and daytime chills. Doesn't anyone know if that can accompany facet joint arthritis? I'm really worried I won't be able to do my job (I'm a teacher) and have no idea on how to proceed past a diagnosis. Can anyone help?
Many thanks,
Cathy.

Comments

• Toots
    Toots Member Posts: 483
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi Cathy

I really can't answer your questions I'm afraid, but hopefully someone may be along to offer advice. In the meantime, welcome from another newbie, and, if I may, hugs! x
    Toots x
  • frogmella
    frogmella Member Posts: 1,111
    Hi Cathy,

I had facet joint arthritis. I say had because 6 months ago I had my second spinal fusion and the joints were removed and I am now better. Anyway, that is by the by.

I too had morning sweats/hot flushes. I never managed to pin down the cause. As I had previously had an infection in my first fusion site I was worried it might be due to lingering infection but that turned out not to be the case. I also wondered about early menopause (I am 37). I thought that mine might have been caused by stress - I too am a teacher and found working very difficult. I also ended up having a whole year off sick after my infected hardware was removed and that was stressful in itself. I do get sweaty when I am stressed so maybe that was the cause? But then you posting this has made me wonder!!

I got lucky with my second surgeon who officially diagnosed my facet joint arthritis. He did injections in the joints to diagnose. Then, once the good effects had worn off, he offered fusion.