Hello, another newbie here!

neitshade
neitshade Member Posts: 6
edited 10. Dec 2013, 10:16 in Say Hello Archive
Hi, I'm Dave. I think I've had osteoarthritis for some years but, a couple of years ago, I just stopped myself falling on some ice, and I twisted my knee, and found I couldn't walk without a stick. My doctor diagnosed osteoarthritis, but luckily it has only really affected my mobility, and my main hobby at the moment involves sitting in my armchair colouring old black and white photos. My armchair is a riser/recliner, so I can stay in it for ages!

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Dave. It's good to me you though I'm sorry about the OA.

Your hobby sounds interesting. My husband used to do that sometimes but I'm not sure how. I'm not sure sitting for long periods would be good for you though. They say we should keep getting up and moving about to stop things stiffening up.

Please look around and join in wherever you like. Living With Arthritis is where we talk about...er...living with arthritis :lol: and Chit Chat's for all other stuff. Have fun :areindeer:
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.
    Steven Wright
  • neitshade
    Thanks! It's an absorbing hobby, and I exaggerated a little. I do move around, but the recliner means that I can sit a little longer than I would be able to. I get more exercise when I'm at someone else's house as I just have to stand up from time to time!
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Hello, it's nice to meet you and I hope we can help with information and support. Having said that I am in the throes of moving so won't be about too much for the next week or so. :lol: