Hello I'm a newbie today

Options
Robbsore
Robbsore Member Posts: 7
edited 27. Feb 2014, 10:05 in Say Hello Archive
Hello

New hear today, just felt I needed to find out more about how to cope with arthritic knee(s) I fear I may sound very trivial after reading only a few posts.

I am female aged 55. I new from about 40ish that I had painful knees. By the time I was 50 I struggled with walking and stairs. I had a knee arthroscopy 3 years ago. My surgeon told me after the op that the news he had was not what I wanted to hear. He said my arthritis was very bad and the only way forward would be a knee replacement, however, he wanted me to persevere for as long as possible to see how things went after the op. I have persevered for 3 years and am tired of not being able to do things normally, i.e. being able to walk for more then 10 mins, being able to enjoy holidays, festivals, walking around supermarkets etc.

I asked for new referral (my GP asked if I would be okay to see the previous surgeon to which I said yes) and was given an appointment at orthopedics outpatients. However it was a physiotherapist I saw, nor an orthopedic consultant. She stated how bad my knee was 3 years ago from the notes, and from a physical examination. I was x-rayed and she saw further deterioration. However she said that the next line of treatment would be intensive physiotherapy, using poles to walk with and painkillers, she also said to try supplements.

I had hoped for a better outcome, though I do not know what! I feel my quality of life at this age is being ruined and I won't get a knee replacement until I am much older, and goodness knows what the rest of my health will be like by then. I just feel so down after this consultation that I just have to resign myself to poor quality of life at a time my husband and I would like to enjoy holidays and travelling and sadly its taking that pleasure away from him too.