Hello Newbie here loads of questions I am afraid

dalaney
dalaney Member Posts: 22
edited 30. Dec 2013, 13:35 in Say Hello Archive
Hello I have just found this forum and wanted to say Hi. I am a 48 year old social worker who has had arthritis for several years but this year found out what I thought was ongoing sciatica was in fact arthritis of the hip. It is so painful and I am currently having physio treatment and being put on the "Hip Pathway" with the end result being a hip replacement. I have been told that they dont like doing hip replacements on people as young as me but I am finding it so hard to live with this pain and limping all day is exhausting. Initially I was told to rethink my work pattern I was astonished I live alone and support myself that is simply not an option apart from the fact I love my job. My questions are what sort of pain relief is good I unfortunately struggle to take anti inflammatory drugs and baisc paracetomol etc does not touch it. I was swimming which helped but it is so cold no i cant do it as it makes it worse. Today my physio gave me accupuncture which gave me immediate relief but was very short lived i will be having it again though in couple of weeks. Some days I am desperate as i am so tired with not sleeping due to the pain it really has taken over my life. I also have athritis in my shoulder and fingers which are all bent. Any advice anyone can give me would be wonderful. Thank you

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello dalaney and welcome to the club no-one wants to join :roll: There is more to pain relief than paracetamol but the stronger the meds, the more they tend to space you out. It's a double-edged sword. I wonder what your problems with anti-inflamms are. If stomach-related, a stomach-protecting med can make all the difference. Taking pain relief at bedtime will help you to sleep.