Can anyone help?

jude73
jude73 Member Posts: 6
My mum has received a couple of phone calls from a company (she said she didn't catch the name) asking about her arthritis. I didn't know about it until I visited her yesterday and she said there was a "therapist" coming to her home on Friday to give her tips on managing her condition. On the phone, they were constantly reassuring her they were not trying to sell her anything and it was all free and she is convinced it is some kind of government scheme. She is recently widowed and when I tentatively voiced my concerns, she got annoyed. I don't want her to feel stupid if it is a scam. They are calling back in a couple of days to confirm her appointment, can you help me please? Is it a scam?

Comments

• maria09
    maria09 Member Posts: 1,905
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hi
    I have no experience with this but I'm assuming its cold calling and I'm sure there will be money involved
    If your mum goes ahead with it please be there with her you never know in this day and age
    I personally would cancel
    Maybe you could give the helpline team on here to ask their advice
    Maria
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi Jude. I'm not a member of the Helpline team, just someone who has had arthritis for over 50 years. I jumped in here because, like you, I heard warning bells ringing. I've never heard of a such a 'government scheme' and I think, if there were such a thing, the good people from Arthritis Care would have told us all about it.

I would actually be very concerned about anyone, other than a trusted medical professional, giving me tips on how to manage my arthritis. They could do far more harm than good. If your mother needs such advice she could ask to have an Occupational Therapist visit her and she'd then get expert advice and maybe the odd gadget, for free. However, OTs do not cold call.