My first dental appointment since being on Meth & Hydro

Options
valde
valde Member Posts: 271
edited 28. Feb 2014, 18:44 in Living with Arthritis archive
This may be a stupid question but today half of my tooth broke off and I can't get dentist appointment until Monday. Really cross because I was having a really good almost pain free day fromRA. Hopefully if I take care it won't get painful before then. My question is is it OK to have the dental work done while I am on meth and hydrox. I am due to take my 4 meth tabs on Monday as this is my day. Should I take before I go. Sorry if this is a daft question but as I am new to this medication I wondered if anyone can advise. Many thanks

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    It's not a daft question, it's perfectly reasonable. If it were me I would hold off on the meth until I'd been to the dentist and I would make sure she knows I take it (and any other relevant drug). I have had many more years practice at this malarkey than you and am not afraid to 'fiddle' with the timing of my meds but I think there's nothing wrong in erring on the side of caution. It's obviously too late for you to ring your rheumatology helpline for advice (assuming you have one). I hope you can get in to see the dentist and a repair can be effected. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • valde
    valde Member Posts: 271
    Options
    Thank you so much for your reply DD. I will hold off my meth and other meds just to be safe. I will try to ring the R Nurse on Monday morning as my appointment is not until 12.30 but they don't man a phone and reply to all messages on Weds so may not get much help there. I really appreciate you answering my question. I don't know what I would do without this forum as its so much help. Hope you have a good night.
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,710
    Options