Bit of a rant (turned into a bit of a long one, sorry!)

katherine810
katherine810 Member Posts: 67
edited 28. Mar 2014, 00:09 in Young people's community
Hello everyone,

I haven't posted on here in years! I'm Katherine, i'm 19 and I have had polyarticular juvenile idiopathic arthritis since I was 4 currently treated with enbrel injections twice a week though for most of my life I also took methotrexate injections to control my arthritis.

I'm studying childrens nursing at uni and have placements I have to complete where most of the students do 12 and a half hour shifts or more with an hour break. Due to my arthritis I have the allowance to be able to do shorter shifts of 8 hours with a half an hour break five days a week (instead of 3 x 12 and a half hour shifts a week but still doing the same 37.5 hours a week like everyone else). Although the staff and my lecturers are understanding, i'm constantly getting asked by other students lately why I am only doing shorter shifts, why do I not try longer days, that surely coming in 5 days is worse for me due to having to pay parking, petrol costs, less days off...

I know they are probably just trying to help and they are all lovely people but the constant questions are driving me mad, I must've been asked 10 times today! I don't think the majority of the students understand how my arthritis can affect me, or much about juvenile arthritis in general. I know I shouldn't care what other people think but it's hard having to deal with people not understanding when i've always been lucky enough to be surrounded by family and friends who do understand and support me.