Trying to Conceive

Diandra1983
Diandra1983 Member Posts: 4
edited 27. May 2014, 03:36 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi there!

This is my first time here and I am looking for advice. Basically I suffer from arthritis and have done since I was 11 although I was symptom free for many years. For the last two and a half years it has came back a vengeance!!

I have tried several therapies mostly with little success. I was on methotrexate and inflix but stopped these as my husband and I want to try for a baby before my daughter gets any older - she will be 11 this year, I am 30!

We already have some fertility problems and are attending a clinic for this tomorrow. I have heard of a drug called clomid which makes you more fertile and I was wondering if anyone has been prescribed this to help them fall pregnant quicker due to the fact that all rhum meds have stopped? I am in total agony and feel like if I don't get pregnant quickly I may not last off my meds!

Sorry its so long!!!

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello diandra1983 and welcome to the forum. Pregnancy and the difficulties of having to come off the meds in order to conceive is a regular topic on here and I hope some of those currently in that situation will see your post. To my knowledge, some succeed and some have to give up trying in order to go back on the meds. I've never heard of the drug you mention (No-one else has suggested it) but, in any case, you would have to discuss this with your rheumatologist. Please don't let the arthritis get too bad though. Remember, conceiving is only stage 1. You'll then have 9 months of pregnancy followed by a difficult first year. (I know. I did it.) Has your rheumatologist mentioned steroids as a possibility? They bring their own problems and those problems are not to be minimised but they might get you through a tough time.
    If at first you don't succeed, then skydiving definitely isn't for you.