Any bakers out there able to suggest cake for 2nd birthday?

LisaW
LisaW Bots Posts: 37
edited 20. Jun 2014, 07:16 in Community Chit-chat archive
My darling niece is turning two next month. I have been tasked with.... (drum roll, please) baking The Birthday Cake. I am a good cook but no baker:s

I have looked up a few recipes but none of them have appealed to me or what I know DN's mum wants. This will be DN's first taste of chocolate. This cake has to be transportable and DN loves animals.

Any ideas would be welcomed!

Comments

• krisbe
    krisbe Member Posts: 95
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    just buy a catterpillar cake in Tesco!
  • dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    Seeing as how your DN will be two I don't think her critical judgement will be involved; her mother's, however . . . . well that's a very different prospect. :wink:

If it's going to be her first taste of chocolate then find a lovely, gooey choccy cake recipe which is guaranteed to make her feel poorly but might please her mum (I have one somewhere which was dead easy to do and gorgeously rich). Alternatively I would go for a basic home-made sponge, sandwiched and covered in butter icing. Practise your best pink-piped Peppa Pig (I presume she likes Peppa?) which you can then adorn with edible sparkles. If you can't pipe a Peppa (or whatever) then cut out said shape in rice paper and adorn etc. etc. etc. What I would not do is buy a ready-made one; her mum could do that and isn't choosing that option because the burden's been placed on you. :wink: DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • tkachev
    tkachev Member Posts: 8,332
    I'm being ambitous here;
    If she likes animals what about a Noah's Ark cake? Are you any good at making marzipan animals? A nice big chocolate boat as base a square bit on top with' a roof and a door in the side' and animals leading into the ark or buy some wooden ones which she can play with afterwards.