An achievement and questions!

Options
kimbo1
kimbo1 Member Posts: 29
edited 3. Jul 2014, 15:12 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi Everyone

I am very pleased to say that I have found out I got a first for my degree (keep having to pinch myself!) :D:D . It is now on to the next chapter of my life and I have a few questions to ask.

I am going to start looking for a job in the next few weeks and wondering what others experiences have been in this? and views on whether to declare that I have arthritis or not? Currently on methotrexate and seeing my rheumy next week to discuss next step as it hasn't worked as well as we thought it would. At the mo I'm unsure of how I would be in a full time job due to my fatigue so this is a bit of a worry for me.

I'm also looking to buy my first car! Within 10 minutes I had already found that a 3 door will be no good as I can't turn to reach the seatbelt. Any other things people can think of to consider when looking at cars? Also for car insurance would I have to put arthritis on it or not and how would this affect costs?

Sorry for all the questions :P

Kimbo

Comments

• Slosh
    Slosh Member Posts: 3,194
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Congratulations on your first.
    In terms of the car I had problems reaching the seat belt on my new 3 door car but found a useful device on a certain well known internet shopping site that begins with A. It fixes onto the seat belt and is a kind of loop which makes it easier, I think it was called something like a seatbelt puller.
    You can also get swivel cushions for cars. I have changed recently to an automatic car which is great as it reduces the strain on my dodgy left arm and leg and have reverse parking sensors which are great.