New boy

Bedgebury
Bedgebury Member Posts: 3
edited 10. Sep 2014, 13:04 in Say Hello Archive
Hello

I am new to this site and finding my way around so if I infringe any of the rules as I make my first posts please forgive me.

I am a 65 year old male and I am having a total knee replacement on Monday. An arthroscopy last year confirmed significant damage to my right knee. I tried to loose some weight but after six months intense physio I had to admit that it was getting no better. So here we go.

I will try to keep a diary of my progress but in the meantime if anyone has any advice I would be very grateful

Comments

• stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello Bedgebury. It's nice to meet you and I'm sure you're infringing no rules :)

I'm a veteran of three TKRs (Total Knee Replacements) but my first one lasted 27 years and its counterpart is still hanging on in there 33 years post-op. However, I do have RA everywhere which means I make fewer demands on my knees that someone with OA in the odd joint.

Advice? The golden rule is to do your quads at least 4 times daily before the op to get the muscles strong. That helps post-op recovery. After the op. It's again a matter of lots of exercises, lots of rest with the leg elevated and very little else for a while. I always tell people there are two ways to ruin a new TKR – by doing too much in the way of exercise ie believing that walking is as good as doing the exercises. (It's not. It will only strengthen some muscles, not others.) Or, by doing too little. The exercising does hurt at first but, unless the physio thinks there's a problem, it's best to persevere. I was told to repeat the quads about 6 times daily.

Views vary on pain relief. I take what I need post-op (Morphine! Now :lol: ) but start to reduce asap as it's too easy to become dependent on it especially if, like me, all the other joints are still twanging away anyway.