Advice for doing my job with osteoarthritis

samo36
samo36 Member Posts: 4
Hi,
i am new to this site and and looking for advice over my current job
i have osteoarthritis in my left shoulder which was operated on two years ago. And recently been diagnosed with having it in my right knee and cervical spine 5th 6th 7th disc
i am a current serving prison officer and have been for 24 yrs also i severed as a guardsman in the forces for 4yrs
my consultant has told me a need complete change of lifestyle and job as he said that i would be unable to fulfill my duties in my current role.
I am struggling to adapt as i have kept myself in good shape over the years and looked after my body .They think that it has been past on genetically as my mother suffered with it .
i have to face a medical inefficiency board as my current governor has said that they cannot support me in my current role and offered a re-role with a wage cut.
It looks like i will have to find another job at the age of 46 and i am struggling mentally to know my next steps .
Any help or advice would be welcome as i am at my whits end
thank you

Comments

• frogmorton
    frogmorton Member Posts: 29,332
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Oh Dear :(

I am so sorry to hear this.

I am no expert, but wonder whether there is a union to support you.

It's good that they are prepared to offer you another position, testament to your work record no doubt, but with a pay-cut not so good :? . I imagine there will be an impact on your pension too unless you can get that protected???

Seriously, advice is needed here. If you have no union, ACAS do have an advice line I think.

If you have a look on this board there is a forum for benefits and working matters. There may already be similar situations there....and you might want to cut and paste your post over there too????

Ooops! Sorry I forgot to welcome you from me to our community :)

Toni xx
  • samo36
    samo36 Member Posts: 4