May I have a little moan, please?

dreamdaisy
dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
edited 1. Jan 2015, 11:19 in Living with Arthritis archive
I admit that I am not that good at moaning, my view being it is what it is and it will do what it will do and moaning won't change a thing, but I am being sore-tested at the moment by a PsA-affected toe nail - or rather the lack of half of a toe nail that 'peeled' off last night.

I felt that summat was up (a snagging sensation in my slipper) so went to the bedroom to investigate. A nail had split vertically down the middle and the left-hand half was already away from the nail bed. I made a quick (and probably rash) decision and ripped it off. I dripped blood all over the carpet as I lurched towards the bathroom (hopping being out of the question! :wink: ) and, after patching myself up as best I could, I soaked a flannel in cold water and blotted the carpet as best I could. I then 'grape-trod' a towel over the damp bits.

It throbbed all night long but, around 9.30am, it stopped: I suspect I should peel off the three plasters that cover it but am unwilling to unsettle things. I've just peered down the top of the plasters and wish I hadn't. :shock:

I think I will leave well-alone this evening but have a proper butchers tomorrow: I want this to heal so won't do my meth this week (and may reduce my sulph a little) because this is a nasty wound. I've lost nails before but not quite as badly.

All I can say is 'OUCH'.

PsA - the gift that keeps taking a little more away each time it strikes. I am trying to be pleased that it's only the one toe but, as I said, I am being sore-tested. And I mean sore! :lol: DD
Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben

Comments

• barbara12
    barbara12 Member Posts: 21,280
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Oh DD..you keep a close eye on that toe, we don't want it taking bad ways..could you not soak it in hot salt water ,to keep any infections down x
    Love
    Barbara