Confused

Options
nellym78
nellym78 Member Posts: 3
edited 19. Jan 2015, 03:25 in Say Hello Archive
Hi Everyone

I am new to site and looking for some advice.

I was hospitalised at age 12 with a suspected viral infection. I had inflammation of the knee and a painful clicking hip. I was put on traction and pain relief. I was in for several weeks and then diagnosed with Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis.

Over the next 3 years I had several severe flare ups which resulted in long hospital stays, many medications, physiotherapy, hydrotherapy and attending school in a wheelchair.

Between the ages of 16 and 21 I had no symptoms and seemed to have outgrown it as the Doctors had suggested.

I am now 36 and since a fall downstairs at 34 I have attended my gp with constant joint pain and fatigue. Each time I am told it is tendonitis or bursitis and given ibuprofen. This does help but as soon as I stop taking the pain returns. Each time one joint is always worse than others. I gp even told me it was just part of getting old :x

I have a bone spur on the inside of my ankle, one on the back of my hand, one on the base of my thumb and suspected spurs on my coccyx and elbows. I am also underweight so not sure if it is lack of padding at coccyx and elbows. All of which are painful.

I have also been treated for IBS for the last 2 years. I also get random shoulder impingement and big toe cramps.

I have been attending a podiatrist for 6 years to get the same 2 corns removed from the soles of my feet. They initially suspected it was my footwear but I have religiously wore trainers or walking shoes since advised to!

My pain is worse as the day goes on and during cold weather.

I am concerned my arthritis has returned but confused as to why my gp has not at least had my joints x rayed to check for damage due to my history of JRA!

How can I convince my gp to send me for an x ray or Rheumatologist? And Can arthritis return after such a long remission?