Using crutches

tedthered64
tedthered64 Member Posts: 84
edited 18. Aug 2015, 04:11 in Living with Arthritis archive
Hi all,
I have avascular necrosis of femoral head, consultant seems to think I will suffer segmental breakdown within 4 months. I also have advanced bi lateral arthritis in both hips and both knees.

I was contemplating using crutches to take the weight off my hip and hopefully slow down the collapse, I am 51 and consultant as advised age 55 would be his preferred age for a total hip replacement.

Can anyone offer me any advice regards this please.
Thank you
Ted

Comments

• dreamdaisy
    dreamdaisy Member Posts: 31,520
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Hello, I've been using crutches since 2002 but my condition is different to yours. I was fortunate in that I was taught how to use them, is this idea your own or have you been recommended to try them?

If it's just the one joint that is affected then you may find that one crutch is enough. It should be held in the opposite hand to the affected joint and the handle should be set to just above hip-height. I prefer the cuff variety because if you let go they swing off the forearm rather than clattering to the floor! The crutch should be moved forward at the same time as you stride with the affected side, this allows you to transfer weight off the that side to the stick. If you find that two is better then they should be used alternately, not both swung forward together and then you step. I need two because I have wrecked joints on both sides. DD
    Have you got the despatches? No, I always walk like this. Eddie Braben
  • tedthered64
    dreamdaisy wrote:
    Hello, I've been using crutches since 2002 but my condition is different to yours. I was fortunate in that I was taught how to use them, is this idea your own or have you been recommended to try them?