Hi I'm new

Wildcat
Wildcat Member Posts: 9
edited 7. Aug 2015, 06:09 in Say Hello Archive
Hi everyone I'm a newbie. My name is Michelle, and I've been suffering from osteo arthritis in my right ankle for many years after a nasty fall and an operation. Next Friday I'm having an ankle fusion operation and to say I'm scared is an understatement. I'm really looking for some tips and to make some friends with people who have been through this too. It's lovely to meet you all xx
~Michelle~

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Welcome to Arthritis Care Forums Wildcat from the moderation team

As mods we are here to help with any problems you may have on the message boards.

There are lots of lovely people here with a wide range of experiences with arthritis and the problems of living with the condition. Just join in wherever you like you will be made very welcome.

I look forward to seeing you posting on the boards.

Best wishes

Moderator JK
  • alumina
    alumina Member Posts: 40
    Hello, nice to see you here although sorry of course for the reason. I have OA and have had a hip replacement but no work on my ankles. It is scary going for an op of any sort but I am sure that someone here will be able to give you advice having been through it themselves.

Hope all goes well for you and that you enjoy your time here.
    "Always remember that you are absolutely unique. Just like everyone else."
    Margaret Mead
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,697
    Hi there, Michelle. Of course you're scared. We all get scared before operations even old hands like me. No ankle ops for me but I've had hips and knees replaced.

If you put 'ankle fusion' into the pink search box near the top of the page on the right some old threads on it come up (also on the right).

If you start a new thread on the Living With Arthritis forum you're more likely to get recent ankle fusion people seeing it.