New to all this

Options
Coffeecup
Coffeecup Member Posts: 16
edited 24. Aug 2015, 14:23 in Say Hello Archive
Hello everyone,
Thank you for letting me join.
I'm sure there are a lot of people on here with much worse symptoms, so I feel a bit of a fraud , but I'm scared.
I'm 46, female.
Have been diagnosed with osteoarthritis, both knees, right worse than left.
My mother has lives with rheumatoid arthritis for many years now, and she is a great example regarding staying active etc, but I have also watched her suffer a lot of pain.
I feel a bit young for all this!
Long distance driving has become very painful, and I drive a lot.
GP I saw today wasn't very helpful.
" lose some weight " ( yes I know!!!), " do you want to see a physio?" ( yes please)
Anyway, information = patient power in my opinion, ( and I'm actually a midwife believe it or not), so here I am, looking for something, not sure what.
Thank you for listening to my ramblings.

Comments

• [Deleted User]
    [Deleted User] Posts: 3,635
    edited 30. Nov -1, 00:00
    Options
    Hello coffeecup
    Welcome to the forum, I am sure you will find support, advice and light relief here. There are lots of others here with OA.
    I'm one of the modration team, we all have one or more arthritis "hanger on" or look after family with the same. If you need help with the technicalities of the forum, just get in touch via a peronal message.
    best wishes
    CK Modrator.
  • stickywicket
    stickywicket Member Posts: 27,712
    Options
    Hello coffeecup. It's lovely to have you on board but I'm sorry you qualified for our forum.

There are people everywhere with worse symptoms than all of us but that doesn't lessen our own pain and difficulties. You are not a fraud but I'm sure we've all felt like that at times. I know I have. Oh that first head-clutching moment when I sat in a wheelchair! I daredn't get out in case people thought me a fraud :lol: